take me back

take me back when i was five
when elvis was king
when hands and face were
covered in mud and sweat

take me back when i was five
when complications did not
exist or disappointments not
available to haunt you

take me back when i was five
when parents were gods of
love and safety producing fun
excitement and safety

take me back when i was five
when brothers were brothers
and mothers were mothers followed
by fathers as fathers

take me back when i was five
when neighbors gently visited
with each other as neighbors
did on newly created television

take me back when i was five
when airplanes flew majestically
and travel was planned weeks
in advance no detail left untouched

take me back when i was five
and girls were a strange
phenomenon unknown only
by looking at your mother

take me back when i was five
when politics was left to
the adults that you trusted
with all your mighty might

take me back when i was five
so life can be breathing, running
laughing, crying, screaming for joy
and living like loose change

i am not five anymore…

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

