I have fallen

Into an abyss
I have fallen
I can’t get out
Never happened before
not true; happened many times
I have fallen but not this way
into a quicksand of
water that’s robbing
me of breath, stealing
my soul into a lock box
of riddles, strapped to the side
of a fast-moving truck
without help; without help, crashing
into a limestone wall where faces are smashed
into unrecognizable receipts of unrequited obsession
Oh my dear God, I have fallen, so deep, so dark
I pray there is no hope but to keep falling
I have fallen and I don’t want
to stop, I have fallen and I don’t
want to stop. I want to die in
your arms of denial and smile of lust
where your fingertips glide over
this naked ancient body just one more time
I have fallen so fucking deep
so ever-fucking deep
and I don’t want to stop
I have fallen
Thank God. I have fallen

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

