Exercise as Escape into Movies

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I watch movies – a ton of them. I watch them as I exercise after work or on my day off. I do the elliptical every day. That’s right: Every day. I do not miss a day, if I can help it. And every time I get on the elliptical, I watch a movie.
Let’s recap the movie agenda for this past week. Exciting, isn’t it? I told you, I would bore the snot out of you with this movie crap.
Here’s a partial list that covers the last seven days.
A Clint Eastwood binge:
“Pink Cadillac
Dirty Harry 1
Dirty Harry 2
Unforgiven
Gran Torino”
Then others:
“The Flim-Flam Man
The Boys From Brazil
Hemingway & Gillhorn
Devil in the Blue Dress”
And that most likely is just a partial list. I watch movies all the time. I love them. I watch the same movies over and over again.
The movies on the above list, I have seen several times. Oh, I forgot another one I watched in this past week and that was “Mulholland Falls.” (Great movie)
As mentioned, all these movies I’ve seen several times. I always notice new things in each movie, like Eastwood’s constant use of the word “babe.” Meaningless, I know, but I notice these insignificant things all the time. They mean nothing, except in the scheme of movies. As in, Eastwood, the filmmaker, uses the same people over and over again. No news in that. Most filmmakers find people they can trust and work with and use them over and over again from crew to actors. Makes for a good team.
A small anecdote about Mr. Eastwood – whom I believe has become one of the great American filmmakers of all time: My late father, actor James Whitmore, was doing a segment of a television show starring Eastwood, “Rawhide.” Eastwood was playing a character, Rowdy Yates. My dad was a guest star on the program and asked Eastwood to rehearse a scene and Eastwood declined saying, “It’s fine,” according to my father. Dismissed him outright.
“I didn’t like him,” Dad said. “He was arrogant,” or words to that effect, again, according to my dad.
In all fairness, Pop wasn’t the easiest person to work with either. As another example of that, and then I will mercifully let you go, my brother, Jim, was doing a play with dad and during a promotional interview was asked what was it like to work with his father?
Jim’s comic response: “It’s like working with Idi Amin.” If you don’t know who Idi Amin was, look it up.
Anyway, now onto the next movie.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exercise as Escape into Movies

  1. Art Cohen says:

    Steve – apropos of nothing, we were at SDSU together. I was in The Last Meeting of the Knights of the White Magnolia – it taught me never to change the blocking or add business just as I come on stage. And it left me with a Southern Accent my roommates got really tired of before I could drop it. Glad you’re still kicking and doing lots of great work. Be well!

Leave a Reply

