Voting is a fundemental truth…

There can be no other way to look at it: Voting is the ultimate truth when it comes to a democratic republic. So many people decry the institution of the vote. They say it is pointless. The nation will never change because we vote. Such hogwash!

This Tuesday, March 5, is another chance to cast your commitment to this Democracy. Most will not. They will go about their business, and not for a moment dwell on the fact that voting is what this country is all about.

And to make it more curious, it is these non-voting folks who complain the loudest. Everything is wrong. Nothing is right. On and on and on. It never stops. These are the same people who listen to the raving lunatics on talk radio. In fact, they are the ones that call in to the fanatics. Now, it’s true not everybody that listens or participates in talk radio is like that, but many of them do fall into this category.

My father used to call it lip-farting, pardon my French.

I remember a few years back I headed across this great nation to take a job at a Midwest newspaper. I had the misfortune of listening to talk radio for hours on end in the middle of the isolated desert. I couldn’t believe my ears. Such nonsense. I was sad for the state of America, until I realized yet again that this was not our country. It was just one section.

Our country, yours and mine, is terrific. It has its problems, and it may not be in the best shape right now, but it has every opportunity to regain that shape of excellence. We have to do it together.

This is not taking for granted our blessings we have here, which are many, or that we’re not a great nation. We are. We just can be so much better. To accomplish this, as I just said, we all need to get involved. We need to recommit ourselves to the principal of this nation that we are a society by the people, of the people and for the people. That’s a paraphrase, I know, but what the hell. You can’t blame a guy for doing his best.

I feel really grateful to be an American. I do love this country. It has afforded me a truly great life. Yes, life does get busy and there is confusion and challenges that sometimes don’t look like they have any clarity or solution. But you keep moving forward and by doing so, everything gets better. Something about the momentum that creates a clear mind and soul that finds the right solutions.

And at a bare minimum, all we have to do to keep this country moving forward is to vote. Yet more than half of this country won’t. And that’s even after we have made it even easier to cast your ballot.  You don’t even have to leave your home anymore, if your don’t want to.

I do. I leave my home to vote. I go to the ballot box and cast my vote. I mark the ballot and place it in the box. I wear my sticker “I voted” proudly on my lapel.

It is my fundamental truth. Vote this Tuesday. Please. We need everybody to keep us safe, sane and, most certainly, free.

Talk soon.

 

 

 

 

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Voting is a fundemental truth…

  1. The United States is not a democratic republic it’s a Republic.

Leave a Reply

