Long time since we talked…

I just wanted to check in for a few because it’s been a long time since we had a visit. Quickly, life is good today. Everything seems to be falling into place. Work is good. Busy but good. I am blessed to have the job I have and the boss to go with it. In fact, in a very strange way, I have more freedom in this para-military operation than I ever did as a journalist.

I have spoken in the past about how much I miss working in a newsroom. Much of that is a romantic notion. I am reminded  daily how difficult newsrooms are today. The emphasis on entertainment is tedious as hell. Sorry but it is.

But here’s the rub and there’s really no way around it: Reporters, editors and the like do keep us all accountable. We, I, must remember that it’s these folks that work hard to protect our freedom. As much as they are a pain in the ass, they, in fact, protect our freedom. They keep us on the hot seat, having to explain why we do what we do. And there is nothing more important than an informed electorate.

Speaking of which, too many of us don’t vote. This is an old refrain, I know, but it’s shocking to realize that more than half the people in this country complain about the state of this great nation while sitting on their ass at home drinking beer.  Well, not everybody drinks beer while sitting at home. That was an over-generalization, but I think you get the point.

I vote. My two sons vote. My wife votes. We are an engaged family. Any given night you can hear my two grown sons debate the nature of things, strongly, passionately and with knowledge. They are much smarter than me.

A little personal note here, so, you who don’t agree with personal comments, quit reading. My oldest, Brennan, just graduated from California Lutheran University in Thousand Oaks, Calif. My youngest, Sean, is finishing up at Moorpark Junior College in Moorpark, Calif. and is preparing to enter University of California at Santa Cruz, up north in California. He is a psychology major.  Whew! That sure is a mouthful, don’t ya know.

Anyway, as mentioned earlier, just checking in. It’s a New Year after all. Actually, I don’t hold for such nonsense, but others do, so it does rub off a bit. But instead of saying Happy New Year, I say happy Tuesday or Friday or Saturday. Each day is a gift and we all should live it like somebody left the gate open.

Talk soon.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long time since we talked…

  1. Carol Rock says:

    Cripes, the kids are in college? What the heck happened, WE certainly didn’t get older……

Leave a Reply

