You know, this time-off stuff could become a daily routine. Maybe?

I have enjoyed my days away from my work. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy my job. I am actually grateful for the position. And, to be employed is a huge benefit right now. Or anytime. I am deeply grateful for the opportunity to serve in a public capacity.

Now, having said that, this time-off stuff is great. I love lounging around in my PJs ’till late in the day, without any encumbrances from the teething throng I have to deal with. That all begins anew this coming Monday.

Me and my wife of lo these many years have enjoyed dinners together. Just the two of us. No kids. No family distractions. I have allowed her to dictate the schedule, which by the way has improved our relationship by leaps and bounds. As the old-saying goes: “Whatever you say, dear.”

Today is a day filled with nothing. I love it. I have to get a haircut – I know how deeply you care about the tedium of my day – but what the hell. Give it a shot, I always say, ol’ boy!

After the cutting of my hair follicles, I am off to the movies with my wife. After that, who knows? High adventure, I’m sure. What that means for me is, most likely, sitting almost horizontal in my recliner, weathering a sneak attack from our new cat, Prince. He likes to zip up the side of the chair and recline at the top, legs dangling over each side. So, when I sit back in the chair, it appears I am wearing a cat-hat. Sounds like Dr. Seuss. This cat, by the by, has a quiet aggressiveness about him.

This is important, but must be shared quietly. Need-to-know only. He appears to be docile, but he ain’t. He zips around the room when he thinks nobody is watching. But I am watching. I got this cat’s number, make no mistake about it. I do believe, however, deep down where truths are hidden and fears a prevalent, the cat is going to win.

He purrs and cuddles quietly, while he’s planning his next attack. He has nuzzled up to my cheek, for Christ’s sake, when I’ve been sleeping, He has taken his teeth and dragged them along my skin. Teeth by jowl. Like fingers across sandpaper. Strange cat.

I promise you this, I will continue to monitor this – possibly dangerous – situation. It could threaten our peace and serenity. Big doings here in the Whitmore house. But I am on the job. This cat, Prince – actually he has a lovely disposition, he purrs and plays and fills our home with love. No! No! No! I will not allow myself to be caught up in this feline deception. I must protect the household, the neighborhood, the city, the county, the state and yes, by God, this great nation of ours. This cat will not best me.

He does have a lovely disposition. Overall. Confusing, isn’t it?

Perhaps, I need to get out more often. You know, this time-off stuff could become a daily routine, don’t ya think? Talk soon.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

