God! How I hate being sick…Whitney Houston takes you there

I am suffering from a bug that wipes me out; turning me into a slug of my self. Who cares, right? Just shut up already, critics say. You’re a punk! They also say. All true, by the way. All true.

I really don’t care because I feel like crap, and I want to burden everyone with that relevant news. So now that I’ve done it, what’s next? Glad you asked. I have no idea but here goes.

The other night I was watching “The Bodyguard” again and realized – again – that it was a really good movie. Whitney Houston was great and so was Kevin Costner. The script had significant holes in it but I didn’t mind. For some reason, I kept going over in my mind that she was dead. As if it wasn’t real. Funny about that because I’ve never done that with anyone.

I have lost both parents. My oldest friend from junior high school days. Many people along the way. I have spoken at many a funeral service. I have lost Will Campbell; the man who literally saved my life.

I do not go over in my mind or heart that they are gone. Well, maybe Will. I loved Will with all my heart. He took me from a broken down goof and turned me into a Dean’s List college graduate with a world of possibilities awaiting. He was my dad in so many ways. Yes, I miss Will. And yes, I do wish he was still here, but I know he’s passed. And that is OK. Now, that is OK.

With Ms. Houston, I still can’t believe she’s dead. I certainly did not know her. Do not own one of her records. Have not seen any other movie of hers except “The Bodyguard.” Strange, I think.

I watched the movie and loved it. That voice in that movie was unique. Yes, people abuse that word, “unique;” say it all the time about stuff that isn’t unique; adjectives from hell. But the word fits her voice in that movie.

I wrote about this before, but it’s so rare to experience a voice that lifts you up, into the clouds where you fly like a bird. Like a freebird – that song, “Freebird,” by Lynyrd Skynyrd, the American southern rock band – doesn’t take you there. It’s a good song. No question about that, but it doesn’t do what Whitney Houston’s voice does in “The Bodyguard.” That voice in that movie takes you there. That’s why it’s unique. I used the word right. Take note and bow down in blind obedience. Nah. You don’t have to, if you don’t want. If you do, well, that’s another story.

So, I feel like crap and there you have it. Enough’s enough, as they say, whoever they are. Talk soon. See ya.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

