The Invasion of the Kidney Stones ravage the body

For the last several days I have been fighting a kidney stone invasion. Or more to the point, many kidney stones. And to make matters a bit worse, I have smaller than normal tubes that would otherwise allow for the passage of said stones, so they get caught up and cause a horrendous amount of pain.

This is no joke. I have never experienced such pain. Many say it’s just like when a women gives birth. I know now how strong and courageous women are when they pass a child onto this world. It is a marvel that women don’t literally kill men for impregnating them. However, they do get epidurals, which, again, I’ve been told, helps with the pain.

I was hospitalized for 3 days just to manage the pain. That was accomplished, but it wears you out. I’ve been praying daily for relief and sometimes it comes, most times it does not.

I had a surgical procedure this weekend to try and alleviate the problem, but that was only partially successful. I have a stent in me that is supposed to help with the evacuation of the stones. More pain ahead.

I am not good with pain. I hurt easily. I am not ashamed of being a wimp. I just need to be careful with all these medications I’m taking. It’s those medications that can take me down a horrifying road. I am being careful – for today. That has to remain. I must be ever-vigilant.

My lovely bride of lo’ these many years, posted my hospital visit on her Facebook page. The result has been many of her friends have wished me a speedy recovery. My wife is very popular because she has the uncanny ability to think of others. She is one of the strongest people I have ever met and yet, at the same time, she’s gentle and kind. I am a lucky man. And to think, our marriage was predicted by my closest advisers as doomed from the start. That was more than 24 years, and two grown sons ago. Who would’ve thought?

Well, anyway, that’s the tale of Willie the weeper, as my father used to say. I will continue to try and get these stones removed from my innards and move onto the next challenge. That’s life, isn’t it. Just keep moving forward. On and on and on. So be it.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

