New Year’s a day of sober reflection

This is the time time for taking stock of the good and the bad. This past year has been a struggle on some fronts; some important fronts, but it’s also been a good year on many others.

As we move into tonight’s revelry, take a moment to be quiet and reflective of this past year. I think that’s a good thing to do. I am doing it. Besides my kitchen plumbing that has gone haywire spewing water all over the kitchen, it has been a quiet year filled with desperate situations resolved by quiet solutions. This next year is a year of work for me. Work outside the scope of work, but work nevertheless. I want to be up to the task. I ask for help each day from a power greater than myself for such strength to do this work.

Meanwhile, something happened yesterday of small importance that meant the world to me. The man who cleans my pool brought his son yesterday to help shine my aging waterhole. As always, he did a great job. This kind gentleman also cleans my dad’s pool in Malibu. It’s a great spot, with a breathtaking view.

He spoke kindly of my dad and that was nice to hear. My father sometimes wasn’t so nice with his own family. But he was nice to many others. And, to be fair, he was also nice to his own family, many times. I remember my dad, who passed away a couple years ago, with fondness and gratitude. He was generous towards me, perhaps to a fault, but it kept me and mine going for decades. That generosity of wealth more than enough balances out the scale. 

Moreover, when he passed all was right between us. He worried about me. Concerned that I would struggle without his financial aid. He had every right to worry. But I am here to tell him, if he’s listening somewhere beyond the scope of what we call life, we are fine. I have grown up a little bit financially. Not a lot but enough to keep the ship afloat. I am grateful for my father. My mother was a different story. 

I didn’t do well with my mother. We had a challenged relationship. Most likely, I was too blame for that because I always thought I had some rights that she didn’t recognize. To not put too fine a point on it, I don’t really have any rights. Not the way I treated people four decades ago and even today; sometimes I turn an ugly leaf and spill venom all over people. But not this morning. Not the 31st of December. This morning I will try to treat people with a gentle hand and a comforting smile.

Holidays are a difficult time for many people. I have grown past that and look at these days as good days to be clean and sober. But they are busy days. They are full of food and excitement and love. Something I’m not that good. Getting better, most assuredly.

So, the New Year is upon and I make no resolutions. I probably will be asleep by 10 p.m. Thank God! I wish all of you a Happy and safe New Year, especially those in time of need. You are in my thoughts and prayers. I only wish you well. I only want to see you succeed and embrace all the prosperity you can stand. Above all, I wish you comfort in your own skin. Visit soon. 

 

   

 

   

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

