No reason to change the channel… Honey?

I am not a religious man by nature. I do not believe in the bible,or disbelieve for that matter. I just don’t take it as the Gospel. I’ve read the book and have found it preachy and unreachable.

I have parts of the Koran and have had the same reaction – preachy and unreachable.  I’ve read the Bhagavad Gita, Indian’s bible – same result. More so with the Gita. It’s so far-fetched, it’s funny.

I have tried religion. My first wife and I used to go to church up the street from our apartment, trying to mend our decaying relationship. We fought more after the service than before. That didn’t work.

My wife of these past 24 years belongs to a Bible-based religion. Works for her. I just can’t accept it. There’s way too much crap in the world to believe in such a thing as a God. The only thing I can concoct is that religion was created to get the money of the those wanting to believe while controlling them at the same time.

Bob Dylan once wrote: “Money doesn’t talk, it swears.” Lots of cussing go on out on them streets.

Ironically, every night before I go to sleep, I get on my knees and say a prayer. A real simple prayer : “Thank you. I’m sorry. Please help me.” It changes from time to time, but the last several months it has been real simple. Sometimes, I get on my knees and say nothing. Just “Good night.”

I’m battling demons now in a big way and on several fronts. I took an extended vacation because of growing differences with my boss. Truth is truth and there are not versions of the truth. You can always tell a person by the people he keeps around him. It was once said by some aging pundit, it may have been Andy Rooney, that he didn’t like Bill Clinton too much but he certainly liked the people he surrounded himself with. I feel the same way.

I’m battling personal demons stemming from chronic physical pain. God, how everybody has an answer to that one. And the home life is challenging. My youngest son, who has been living rent-free in an apartment for the past year is moving back home. Arguments are standing by and armed, ready to fight. but I am not ready to fight. I am too old. I want to be left alone.

This has been  a real uplifting column, I know, but I’ve chosen not to write about work because it’s in the public eye and all that stems from that. My life is dull, as you can see. So, what’s the use, (A big long sigh right here would be perfect – SIIIIGH).

A famous cartoonist, or maybe more accurate would be to call him a famous counter-culture storyteller using pictures, R. Crumb, once wrote a comic book entitled “Why Bother.” It had two people on the cover – a man and a woman, probably married – with no expression, staring at the lines on the television when there’s nothing on but the TV. They are sitting, expressionless, staring into the emptiness of the nothing on TV. Above their heads was the caption in bold letters “Why Bother.” I mean why bother even turning off the TV. There is nothing to do but inhale and exhale until that thankfully stops and then all is quiet – forever.

Thought I’d brighten up your day a bit with some funny stories. How’d I do?

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No reason to change the channel… Honey?

  1. PAUL SCHRADER says:

    Very nice, very nice.

Leave a Reply

