A week from hell’s kitchen; actually a new kitchen would be nice

This past week has been a week from hell. I didn’t have a moment to come up for air. Every story was involved, complicated and not-easily solved. This was not a week for the faint of heart.

The good news is: The week ended without any major gaffes. The bad news is: There’s always next week.

So, as I was sitting in my recliner this morning, feeling the agony from my back pain,which decided to flare up in a major way, was a free kitchen or room remodel in my little 1,600 square-foot home.

I have no money to speak of, since I am a county employee. The pay is more than sufficient. I am most certainly not complaining since I do get more than a fair wage. I am in the final stages of paying off my credit card debt, which is going to be a day of great joy in this household. There is nothing like credit card debt – or debt in general for that matter – that can drag your spirit down to the ground. It just halts the day like an invisible brick wall. Slam! Day is ruined. But you keep chipping away at it – one day at a time, and brick by brick, that wall starts to tumble. And when it starts to tumble, suddenly it starts to collapse. And what was once $16,000 is now $2,000. Still way too much. But it is better and it makes you feel good; makes you fee free.

Now you can see that I just can’t afford one of those fancy remodel’s featured on television, where these experts come in for free and turn you house into an oasis. God, how nice they look. Don’t they?

I went on the web to see if there was a place I could tell my story, hoping to snare a free remodel, I mean, come on! I can cry on cue. I can scream on camera. I can hit my marks, for Christ’s sake.

You see these new remodels – for free – and you wish upon a star. Don’t you? You look at the finished project and wish. Regrettably, wishing only gets you  a headache, and that is nobody’s idea of fun.  I do an awful lot of wishing.

Alas. I couldn’t find anyplace where you can write your story, so, after a short while, I begged off and decided, yet again, to accept my little house as is and be grateful for it. And I am.

But you know what really irks me? Is people who leave their empty grocery store shopping cart in the middle of an empty parking space.

As you pull into the lot, you spy what you think is an empty parking space, so you move in to grab it before somebody else does. You pull around the vehicle next to the spot and there you have it! The shopping cart. God, how I hate that.

I get out of my car and place the cart in its proper  holding area and then I pull into my space. I then retrieve that same cart and off I go to shop. I love grocery shopping, by the way. Most relaxing thing on this planet. As I walk toward the store, it does dawn on me that I could have simply set the cart aside and after parking, just grab it and take off. Didn’t think of that. Being pissed off has a tendency to cloud my already overcast thinking.

And so, as my dad used to say – God rest his soul – that’s “the tale of Willie the Weeper.”

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

