Lower back pain robs our souls

There is nothing worse than lower back pain. Actually, we all know there are many things worse, but when you are experiencing it, it is downright debilitating.

Your entire body is wracked by this maddening grid of tense, locked pain – on a level of 1 to 10, 10 being worse. It is a 25. No question about that.

I’ve spent today going through this agony, and, yes, it is agony. I even managed to run my prescribed miles. Probably not the smartest thing to do. But you gotta do what you gotta do.

So, having confessed to my maintaining my daily exercise regimen, you now have no sympathy, empathy or whatever else a person offers up in support of another human being. I know. I know. I shouldn’t have done it, but I did. So what!

So what is that I have no business complaining about my lower back pain if I’m running around in the rain like some idiot. I’m not going to complain anymore. Nope. Not a chance. I’m going to suck it up and “soldier on,” as a friend likes to say.

Well, not exactly. I was never good at soldering. I always thought the rules a bit silly, especially people running around yelling all the time. Relax! I would say. Chill, I would add.

“Shut up,” they would reply. I did. Only because I was afraid they would beat the living crap out of me. Sometimes they did anyway. I deserved it, that’s for sure.

God, the Army was a strange place to call home for two years.  Also, it was the last two years of Vietnam. Whew. I made it. Barely, but I made it.

Tell you one thing: I didn’t have any back pain then.  I rather have the back pain.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

