Canine lovers’ questionable tactics

I gotta tell you something, if I may. Well, hell, I’m gonna tell you anyway even if I may not!

One thing that makes my backside crave sour buttermilk is people with dogs in public areas like shopping malls, restaurants, parks, et al, and the dogs are all bound up by leashes. They are leashed to their necks, their backsides and even their mouths are clamped shut by leash, so they won’t inadvertently bite someone. I know the leashes are for the safety of us humans, but the canines look downright miserable.

Some even put muzzles on their hounds. Jeez, can you imagine. probably somebody would love to put a muzzle on me, that’s for sure.

Anyway, I was at an outside mall in Simi Valley Sunday with my lovely bride of lo’ these many years when  I saw this middle-aged woman with a beautiful Golden Lab. I grew up with these dogs and they are just the nicest dogs in the world. This dog was leashed to his or her body, to his or her backside and he or her – obviously I couldn’t tell the gender but out of respect I will not call him/her, or a him or a her, (how ’bout that for a tasty bit of logic) – had a leash around his or her mouth. The lab kept pawing at the leash around the mouth. Pawing. Pawing and more pawing. Drove me crazy just to look at.  I would’ve pawed too. It looked just awful.

I almost went over and ripped the leash off the dog, just to ease the canine’s anguish. Alas, I am coward, so I didn’t do anything. I just whimpered away, muttering underneath my breath. I am such a coward. On so many levels. You have no idea.

And I’ll tell you what. People that tout the wonderfulness of animals, and how special they are – and in fact, they are right – but then treat them no better than indentured servants. Well, it’s plain wrong. Damn wrong, if you ask me. Well, actually nobody did ask me. I don’t care. It’s wrong. That’s all there is to it.

Animals should be allowed to run free. They shouldn’t be captives in cities. I don’t have any animals, other than the neighborhood cat, Fluffy. Fluffy comes by from time to time to get a hug and purr. I like Fluffy. Cats are different, though. They can live anywhere. Dogs need to run free. They need a country life.

Dogs should not be subject to leashes. That is not a life for a dog. It is a life for the human, having a dog around. It is not a life for a dog, though, having a human around. It is a form of slavery. Absolutely.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

