Leave Sheen be and we should all just shut up

You know, it’s about time somebody said “it’s my life and I’ll party if I want to.”

Charlie Sheen is doing just that. He has come under the media morality microscope as so many before him have and so many after him will , I’m most assuredly sure.

The difference is Mr. Sheen has not gone out and offered a blanket apology, entered rehab for the umpteenth time, and asked for forgiveness. Nope, he’s gone on the offensive and basically said, “screw you.” And why not?

If somebody wants to do stuff that others say is wrong, so be it. If they are concerned it will hurt them or others, stay away. Keep the kids away too. Probably best.

Also, I am so sick of these pundits that get on TV and declare they know what’s what with people they’ve never met; never spoken to and probably never will. They get on TV because they are promoting themselves. Easy call, I know.

I have a quick note of full disclosure here. I am a sober alcoholic. I have not had any alcohol since Oct. 16, 1977. For that, I am grateful. But I got sober because I was desperate. Why was I desperate? Because alcohol – my only friend, lover and confident – turned on me. It stopped working. I didn’t realize it had stopped working until years after it had stopped working. True statement.

Alcohol was not my problem. It was my solution. I stopped drinking because I wanted to and was convinced I couldn’t. I tried, tried and tried to stop to no avail. Then, it took, with help, it took.

The point is if a person wants to drink and they don’t drive. So be it. If they want to drink and don’t fight. So be it. If they want to drink and don’t break the law. By all means, let them have at it. More power to ’em.

We are not – we must not be – the moral compass for everybody who lives a different kind of life. Perhaps, even a life that we find reprehensible.

Obey the laws,  don’t hurt others; live and let live. And we all should just shut the *&^$ up! And do it now. (I probably should take my own advice.)

 

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

