Americans murdered by Somali pirates infuriates

The killing of four Americans taken hostage after their yacht was hijacked by Somali pirates boils the blood. Doesn’t it?

It’s also righteously sad. These four Americans were passing out bibles for Christ’s sake. There is a double meaning there, but I was using the phrase “Christ’s sake” for its exclamation.

For full disclosure purposes, I believe in God in a very private, personal way. I have never been baptised. I do not attend church. I do get on my knees nightly, though, thanking God for my day. I know God, as I understand him.

However, I also jokingly say, “I am a hedonists by nature and a liar by profession.” I hope the latter is not actually true. Sometimes I am the last to know but the first to talk. Not good.     

Anyway, these four people meant nobody any harm. They were sailing on the boat they had been living for the past several years. Going from place to place, handing out bibles, peaceful, plentiful, and now dead. Killed by thugs in boats. God, it’s infuriating! 

Obviously, my thoughts and prayers go out to the family and loved ones of these four dedicated souls.

You know, when I look around at our world, it’s a sad scene. I am not alone. My youngest, 18-year-old Sean – college student – says our nation, and perhaps the world at large, is on its last legs. They are giving out and there is nothing anybody can do about it.   

He likens our nation to the last days of the Roman Empire. The days of the end are upon us, he says, and he’s not religious. I have another friend, more a mentor really, a retired Superior Court judge, who agrees with my son Sean. he says, “it is our last days.”

You really can’t get to deep in this thought because people start ragging on you for being too negative. Crap! I say! Crap!

I think there is relief in knowing that perhaps this is the way of things and therefore: Let it be; take in any small moment of joy you can and wallow in it. Embrace it and smile as broadly as you can because you may never get that moment again. As the noted author, Ram Das, wrote in the 60s, “Be Here Now.” Absolutely.

Also, “if you see your neighbor carrying something, help him with his load.” Bob Dylan wrote that.

 .

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

