Hefner documentary worth a look

Just finished watching a documentary on Hugh Hefner’s life. Yep, the guy that founded Playboy magazine. It is a good piece to view, especially for the history of us and the history of Hefner.

The one thing that struck me was how creative the 60s were. I remember the freedom and creativity that was afoot. It was everywhere and most everybody.

During this time in my life I was attended a college, Callison College, and it was exhilarating. I was involved in creative music, theater, writing, et al. It was in the air. I was lucky to be around it. I didn’t contribute much because I was lazy and undisciplined. I love to drink, smoke cigarettes and tell tall tales. I don’t drink any more. I don’t smoke anymore and I’m trying not to tell tall tales. The latter is tough since sometimes when I talk, I think I’m telling the truth based on the information I’ve received. Sometimes it’s not the truth. Partially yes, but not the whole truth. That’s tough.

This look at Hugh Hefner’s life also is about sex; the great taboo. The subject that still most people giggle about and do not want to talk about, that’s for sure.

Near the end of the documentary, it shows Mr. Hefner surrounded by beautiful women and pundits commenting on his desire to find love or get in tough with some inner something or another. Poppycock, I say.

He’s an 80-year-old man surrounded by beautiful young, incredibly hot, women. Puleeeeeze! Don’t be an idiot. Where do I sign up? Just kidding, honey.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

