Work weary; kids’ dinner energizing

My work gets real crazy, just like any one else gainfully employed. It turns my life upside down. Please understand, I am grateful to be employed. My heart goes out to those struggling with employment issues. It makes life a significant challenge. I have been there numerous times and may very well join those ranks again. I hope not, but there are no guarantees.

It seems to me that there are three major challenges in our lives. They are money, relationships and sex. I think all things emanate from those three.

There is one more and that is: “The trouble with daily living is that it is to (pardon my French) goddamn daily.” No offense intended, but the quote works best with that impolite word thrown in. Actually, that language is PG for me. I like swearing. People say it’s lazy and disrespectful. I disagree. I think searing is integral to the English langauge and should be used.

In any event, I am pooped. This afternoon, though, my two sons and I are going to Joe’s Crab Shack for a late lunch or an early dinner. Whichever. I am looking forward to it. The two boys are doing great and I love to be with them. As my younger brother once said: “My day is made if I can just listen to my kids breathing.” He is so right.

Speaking of brothers, this week during one of the crazy days, I was introduced to a dedicated employee, who asked if I was related to James Whitmore Jr. I proudly said I was and he was genuinely complimentary.

He said: ” I saw him in the film ‘The Boys of Company C’ and he was great. Please tell him from  one Marine  another great job!” I said I would. That was terrific. My older brother, Jim, is a terrific actor, director and just an all-around good guy. That comment made my day.

I called Brother Jim and left him a voice mail message recounting this exchange. I used to do the same thing for my dad, James Whitmore. Made me feel good; passing on those messages.

I am a lucky man who’s lived a charmed life. Despite my flaws, which are many, life keeps getting better. Absolutely and thank you.

 

 

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Work weary; kids’ dinner energizing

  1. MichaelR says:

    It is just another day in paradise SteveW… All is possible to those who are sincere to those things they are sincere about.. You plan on going to Frank J # 30 at Ohio Street on 02/13/11……@ 3p.

Leave a Reply

