As insignificant as I am, I do get inspired by others who aren’t

It is true that I am insignificant as the headline states. This is not a “poor me” statement. It is a fact. I have really not done anything of significance, other than raising my kids, who I love, and remaining married for the past 24 years. Actually, the marriage part is more due to my wife’s intelligence, strength and spiritual commitment. Left to my own devices, I will never leave the house.

But this is about a trio of ladies who sing songs and are the top-selling all-female band in the U.S.

“The Dixie Chicks” are comprised of Martie Maguire, Emily Robison and Natalie Maines. These women not only make great music, but have courage to boot. And I mean courage.

Days before the U.S. invaded Iraq in 2003, when President Bush was riding high in popularity, Ms. Maines said during a London concert: “We don’t want this war, this violence, and we’re ashamed that the President of the United  States is from Texas.”

The backlash was quick, and extremely negative, to say the least. Their concert attendance was cut in half. They received death threats. Their albums were publicly destroyed. It was a dark time for this band. All over s simple statement that others shared but were afraid.

Ms. Maines wrote a song, “Not Ready to Make Nice” in response to this outcry. It is one of the best songs ever written and recorded. It lifts my spirit every time I listen to it. It has made me a Dixie Chicks fan for life.

I’m not kidding. Instead of clamming up, running from it. They stood their ground and sang their hearts out about how absurd this was. They were, are, right. The others were, are, wrong.

That song inspires me to do better. Much better than I usually do. Today, when I was running and that song came on, I picked up the pace just a bit. My stride was a little longer, stronger. Thank you, “Dixie Chicks” for being better than me, so I can work to be better than I am today.

And this is all done through art, music. And you have the audacity to tell me that art, music, drama, literature or whatever, is not as important as math or science. Please!

Talk soon.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

