Two good movies about family…

Recently, I’ve watched two good movies about family. They’re both good and are driven by a loyalty one hopes exists in families. And only in families. I mean, if it doesn’t exist in family, where does it exist? Right?

The answer is regrettably not the case. Most families fight, steal from each other, hurt each other and members avoid each other like the plague for the sake of survival. I know that’s a harsh assessment, but I think it’s an unfortunate truth, despite our hopes and dreams.

The movies, “The Other Woman” and “Conviction,” are strong and worthy of watching. Difficult challenges face each family, but overcome by perseverance and commitment to each other because of the familial connection. I was moved, and text my two sons that I was proud of them and loved them. Not that that means anything. Words are, indeed, cheap. Action has always been the guiding force for me with my kids.

I’ve never really been tested, though. My kids have challenges, for sure, especially in this age of crippling unemployment.  My youngest, Sean, is already concerned he won’t be able to find a job when he graduates college in three-and-a-half years. He’s looking at becoming a psychologist. My oldest, Brennan, is looking at becoming a professional video game reviewer and journalist. They both are doing great.

My loyalty has always been suspect because I am not a naturally loyal person. I am somewhat immature, self-centered and wimpy. I’ve gotten better over the years, but still from time-to-time exhibit those unflattering characteristics.

I have long been this way. I try to change and fall short. But the one thing I have done is stay current with my kids. We are close and do stuff together, like every Saturday night, we usually go out for a “midnight snack.” Last Saturday was no different. We went out to a restaurant, I won’t name out of kindness, and the food was terrible. We laughed, despite the food and we argued, despite the service, and we had fun. We hugged and went our separate ways until the next time, which is probably going to be this Sunday; Super Bowl.

The kids don’t much like football, but they love snacks and lounging around for the game. We eat. Get bored. Do other stuff, but we are together. And at the end of the day, I think, that’s what matters.

I’ve said to them ever since they were little: “As long as we’re together, we’re OK.” I know that to be true.  Maybe that’s loyalty. I don’t know. I just know I love my kids. More than my own life. Easily.

 

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

