More TV news nonsense

I do spend a good amount of time criticizing the way government disseminates information to the public by way of the press. It is deserving.

However, last night a Los Angeles news TV program kept using the moniker “Breaking News” every 30 minutes or so in regards to the unrest in Cairo, Egypt. It became nauseating after about the fifth time they announced “Breaking News” and went to file footage of the Cairo unrest that showed nothing new whatsoever.

I know better educated critics than me have been dumping on TV news for a while and specifically the considerable overuse of breaking news when, in fact, the news is as stale as the air in a long-forgotten store-room.

I just couldn’t believe it. I know people who work at this station, KABC-TV, ch. 7. I even respect the ones I know. Moreover, more so than many other news people at stations throughout the Los Angeles area.  But this was nauseating. It just kept coming and it was depressing.

News is supposed to be about the information, not the packaging. But when money got involved, it became about the packaging. 

“Money doesn’t talk, it swears,” Bob Dylan was once wrote in a song of some note that I have completely forgotten the name of. Ah, such is life. That’s Breaking News, don’t ya know.

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More TV news nonsense

  1. Eric says:

    Agreed. I usually have the TV news on in the background at home, and when I hear the phrase “breaking news,” I instinctively turn my head to watch.

    I think TV execs take advantage of this.

Leave a Reply

