Great movie ‘Secretariat,’ great family

Just watched a great movie, “Secretariat.” It made realize what a great family I come from. Watch a movie about a horse and think of your own family. Right?

I had a great father. He made his name in the world. An actor, a generous man to me and my family. Beyond the real, he was so generous. He never denied me anything. He bailed me out time and time and again financially. It was his way of loving me.

I don’t know if he respected me. I don’t think my mother did. My brothers don’t, I’m relatively sure. They’ve both done great by their hard work and talent. And that was my dad. And mom. They both had talent and were willing to put elbow grease to the rusty wheel.

I’ve never been that good at sustained hard work. I have from time-to-time put in the long hours and have most assuredly put my share of elbow grease into moving the wheel. But all in all, I’ve been a talker. Smooth. Articulate. Focused. It has always come easy to me.

My dad used to tell me about his dad, my grandfather, James Whitmore Sr; that he was a great talker. He was smooth. Articulate. Never missed a beat. I guess I’m like him. Hope so. It would be nice to be like somebody in your family. I’m not like my brothers. They seem more together than I’ve ever been able to muster. My mom seemed together, tough. I know she was lonely, but she kept on keeping on. She loved my two brothers to no end.

I loved the film “Secretariat.” It’s about a great family. A great champion. I cried. My two sons have moved on, as they should. Living on their own, going to college, doing well. I miss ’em. I love ’em. I respect ’em, too.

Funny how a movie can take you places you haven’t been – ever. I highly recommend the film “Secretariat” to all.

 

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

