Don’t ya just luv boring football…

My Sunday is set. That doesn’t happen to often in my life; a day set in advance. But when football is on TV, that is, indeed, the case.

Although I get bored with the games minutes after they start, and bail to do something else, there is a comfort knowing your day is set.

Around here, we get ready for the Super Bowl weeks ahead of schedule. Well, actually we don’t do anything, but we do begin to stock up on snacks. Super Bowl Sunday in this house is actually Super Snack Sunday. My kids, adults now, get more snacks than you can imagine. Buckets of chips, barrels of melted cheese, hot dogs, hamburgers; enough for a small army and this is for four people.

Eating is a big deal in our family. I have said all along that I don’t drink, smoke, I’m married so I don’t have sex; so the only indulgence left me is food. And I love to eat. So do my kids. The wife is more disciplined than the rest of us, but what the hell you going to do?

My kids have moved out of the house. Both are going to college and living in their own apartment or dorm room, so I am here  – all alone (sob) – by myself (sniffle) – getting ready to be bored by football. Isn’t life grand?

Actually, I luv being alone as much as I luv being bored by football. 30 minutes to kick off. My day is set with boredom on tap. Life is grand. No question about that.

 

 

About stevewhitmore

Former award-winning newspaperman and broadcast journalist, both radio and TV, spanning three decades. Army-trained paralegal, court bailiff and prosecutor's lead investigator for the 8th Infantry Division's Judge Advocate General's Corp., Mainz, Germany. 1973-1975.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t ya just luv boring football…

  1. Jerry Jones says:

    Very interesting, see you Wed.

Leave a Reply

